Press and Reviews

Press and reviews for People Like Us

SLC_Cover.jpg

"A . . . sophisticated read that is fast-paced and surprising to the last page."—School Library Connection

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY.jpg

"...Mele creates a cast of sharp-edged, prickly students; the fluid sexuality of various characters is handled well, and themes of betrayal and bullying are front and center. An eerie, unsettling thriller with deadly consequences."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

"Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover."


 

 
YAInterrobang

From February Book Deals

"Dana Mele's People Like Us sold to Putnam for publication in spring 2018 in a two-book deal. A tight-knit group of girls discover a classmate's body in the lake and are targeted by a website that threatens to implicate them for murder." 

Bonus:

Fellow 2018 debuts Rebecca Schaeffer's fantasy Not Even Bones and Austin Siegmund-Broka and Emily Wibberley's contemporary Romeo and Juliet inspired Upstaged are also announced in this roundup.
 

1200x630bb.jpg

"Steeped in scandal and profound tragedy, this is a dark and thrilling look at female friendships, the pressures of scholastic success, and mental health . . . A classic and frightening tale of betrayal and mental illness told in a fresh and contemporary way, this book is difficult to set down for even a moment. It is an intricately designed, beautifully written, and extraordinarily chilling story."

Untitled design-9.jpg

"...a tale of mystery, intrigue, and revenge...with its own twists to keep readers on their toes."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 






 

Pitch of the week.jpg

RT Book Reviews

From RT Book Review's Forewords column, where they "let readers know the latest books on some of publishing's most-anticipated upcoming releases across genres- just as the projects are announced!" 

"Ready for your pitch of the week? Dana Mele will write People Like Us, pitched as...Gone Girl Meets Thirteen Reasons Why. It's also got a little PLl flavor if you ask us: a clique discovers a classmate's body at their posh private school- and are targeted by a revenge website. A? Is that you?"

Untitled design-8.jpg

"The characters and their relationships are nuanced, especially sexually fluid Kay, who has intimate encounters with males and females. This blend of predictable prep school elements with unpredictable suspense makes this a fizzy read for fans of the genre."—Kirkus Reviews

 


 

Untitled design-1.jpg

Read an exclusive excerpt from Dana Mele's upcoming debut thriller 'People Like Us'

Winter is coming, which means it's time to find some new books to sink your teeth into on cold nights.

Luckily, this winter is set be full of binge-worthy books. And even better, MashReads has an exclusive excerpt from one of those upcoming titles: Dana Mele's debut novel, People Like Us.

Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and other psychological suspense stories, People Like Us is an upcoming YA thriller novel set at a private school full of secrets.

People Like Us-2.jpg

From Rights Report: Week of February 13, 2017

Arianne Lewin at Putnam has, in a pre-empt, acquired Dana Mele's debut YA, People Like Us, in a six-figure, two-book deal. Pitched as Gone Girl meets Thirteen Reasons Why, it tells the story of a tight-knit group of girls who discover the body of a classmate in the lake of their posh private school, and are then targeted by a revenge website that threatens to expose their darkest secrets and implicate them for murder. Publication is slated for spring 2018; Andrea Somberg at Harvey Klinger Literary Agency brokered the deal for world rights.